» Google Translator



» December 2014

S M T W T F S
30 1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31 1 2 3

 

» Log in

User Name:

Password:

Not a member yet?
Register Now!

» Today's Birthdays

None

 


Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    racine wi
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like

    Illustrator to Versaworks-CutContour Not Working!

    I am designing in Illustrator CS3, using the "CutContour" spot color swatch method to specify cut lines to use with Versaworks, by saving as .eps.

    8 times out of 10, it works fine. The other 2 times Versaworks will not recognize the path. I end up having to rasterize my art and then place it in Illustrator. Then it reads the cut path, which is actually the exact same path I already created.

    Somehow a characteristic of my graphic is interefering with the cut contour. Presently I am in a crunch because I want to use the spot black from the roland swatches and if I rasterize it will dull my black. This particular graphic is pretty complex with multiple gradients and transparent elements.
    I have tried "flattening transparency" but the graphic is changed when I do that. I have also tried saving the .eps as different versions of Illustrator (I am using CS3). I am also designing on a mac and transferring as .eps to a windows xp machine, in case you think it matters.

    Anyone know a work-around for this one? My patience is running out!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Miles City, Montana
    Posts
    103
    Post Thanks / Like
    I've had the same problem. I am not sure I know the solution. Check your layers have a seperate layer for the cut contour. Be sure its not locked. Sometimes that works. But not always.

    It seems when ever I use transparency is when I have problems. I have CS2 on Windows. I am going to guess it is a VersaWorks Issue. But rasterize your image and then add the cut contour sometimes is the only solution. I have tried the same thing, diferent formats, versions etc. Good Luck. We are looking purchasing better RIP software. Versawoks is easy and does a good job. But many professionals claim other RIP are better.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Who Dey Country!
    Posts
    581
    Post Thanks / Like
    With me it's the transparency issue with spot colors. Rasturize is what I normally have to do to get around this.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Owen Sound, Ontario
    Posts
    52
    Post Thanks / Like
    Transparencies will bugger you every time.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Humboldt, Ca
    Posts
    20
    Post Thanks / Like
    I have yet to get any good results trying to bring transparencies from Illustrator CS2 on a mac into VersaWorks on a PC. One thing that always seems to help is to export in a .pdf instead of a .eps. for me, it seems to work way better. Only difference is that with the .pdf you need the artboard to be right around your image whereas with the .eps it doesn't matter. Rastorizing sucks.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    racine wi
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like

    Thanks anyhow

    Thanks for your posts.

    What I've ended up doing is creating 2 different files to put through VersaWorks. One is the print file, all my vectors, spot colors, transparencies, gradients yadda yadaa. The other is cut path only. For both files, I've made white box behind them to assure everything stays lined up the same. Then I proceed to rip the print version of my file. Then to cut it I am using the cut lines only version of the file, clicking to turn on "registration marks" and then using "cut only". VW then looks for the marks on my print file and lays the cut in the correct places.

    Amazing. And exasperating. At least it gets the job done!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Who Dey Country!
    Posts
    581
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by anneg View Post
    Thanks for your posts.

    What I've ended up doing is creating 2 different files to put through VersaWorks. One is the print file, all my vectors, spot colors, transparencies, gradients yadda yadaa. The other is cut path only. For both files, I've made white box behind them to assure everything stays lined up the same. Then I proceed to rip the print version of my file. Then to cut it I am using the cut lines only version of the file, clicking to turn on "registration marks" and then using "cut only". VW then looks for the marks on my print file and lays the cut in the correct places.

    Amazing. And exasperating. At least it gets the job done!
    wow..I never thought of that. I am sure I will be doing that in the future. Pretty creative thinking.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Swampscott, Ma
    Posts
    2,052
    Post Thanks / Like
    You cannot use transparency with spot colors and save as an eps.
    you have to come up with a work around.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Bemidji, MN
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like

    Here is your answer...

    These are some older posts but I know folks are still being plagued by this troublesome issue. It's actually fairly simple to solve. Make sure you have your contour set up and properly named as the above posts describe. The problem only happens when you have used transparency in your design (drop shadow, outer glow, reduced opacity, etc). When saving your file as .eps you will get a warning saying something about spot colors being used with transparency can give unexpected results. That's your cue that it will not process the cut properly.Cancel your save and select all. Then go to "Flatten Transparency" under the object menu. Set vectors to 75 and check the box "Preserve Overprints ans Spot colors". Then save as .eps and open in VersaWorks. Look for the "Marching Ants" to confirm it is ready to run properly. Be sure to save as or save a copy of your file before you flatten it or you will not be able to edit the file later. I also always do a test print at a smaller size to check for any problems before running the actual job.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    50
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Cheezdog55 View Post
    These are some older posts but I know folks are still being plagued by this troublesome issue. It's actually fairly simple to solve. Make sure you have your contour set up and properly named as the above posts describe. The problem only happens when you have used transparency in your design (drop shadow, outer glow, reduced opacity, etc). When saving your file as .eps you will get a warning saying something about spot colors being used with transparency can give unexpected results. That's your cue that it will not process the cut properly.Cancel your save and select all. Then go to "Flatten Transparency" under the object menu. Set vectors to 75 and check the box "Preserve Overprints ans Spot colors". Then save as .eps and open in VersaWorks. Look for the "Marching Ants" to confirm it is ready to run properly. Be sure to save as or save a copy of your file before you flatten it or you will not be able to edit the file later. I also always do a test print at a smaller size to check for any problems before running the actual job.
    Cheezdog has it down. We've experimented with the following settings:
    1.) CutContour paths need to be 100% opacity and be above any other elements in the layer. Place all CutContour paths at the top levels of the layer or create a separate layer for them above any other layers at 100% opacity
    2.) Save as .EPS and in the EPS Options window, click on the "Custom" button under Transparency to uncheck "Convert all Strokes to Outlines"
    3.) If saving as .PDF, revert back to version 1.3 and perform step 2 under "Advanced" in the Save Adobe PDF window

    We've tested a number of files and these are the only consistent settings that have worked. This preserves cut lines and RVW spot colors. VersaWorks reads layers from the top down and transparencies can mask any lower spot colors (ie CutContour).

    -Dana

    P.S. - If anybody has files where these steps don't work, please PM me so I can get the file to look at
    -Dana Curtis
    Technical Services Manager
    Roland DGA Corp
    http://www.youtube.com/rolanddgasupport

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Bullhead City, Az
    Posts
    20
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by anneg View Post
    Thanks for your posts.

    What I've ended up doing is creating 2 different files to put through VersaWorks. One is the print file, all my vectors, spot colors, transparencies, gradients yadda yadaa. The other is cut path only. For both files, I've made white box behind them to assure everything stays lined up the same. Then I proceed to rip the print version of my file. Then to cut it I am using the cut lines only version of the file, clicking to turn on "registration marks" and then using "cut only". VW then looks for the marks on my print file and lays the cut in the correct places.

    Amazing. And exasperating. At least it gets the job done!

    Yep.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    norcorss
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like
    This is the easy way to print & cut , wherever shadows, transparencies or anything you have in eps files.

    What I've ended up doing is creating 2 different files to put through VersaWorks. One is the print file, all my vectors, spot colors, transparencies, gradients yadda yadaa. The other is cut path only. For both files, I've made white box behind them to assure everything stays lined up the same. Then I proceed to rip the print version of my file. Then to cut it I am using the cut lines only version of the file, clicking to turn on "registration marks" and then using "cut only". VW then looks for the marks on my print file and lays the cut in the correct places.

    Amazing. And exasperating. At least it gets the job done!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Garfield, NJ(main shop/office) & Alpha, NJ
    Posts
    3,783
    Post Thanks / Like
    usually if i just flatten the image but not the cut line then it will work. i don't know if that is the correct procedure but it works
    better to have too much work and try to find the time to do it

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    8
    Post Thanks / Like

    Check this video out...

    To all having this problem, this video will help:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CvoLWXfUFNk

    Regards,
    Fernando Catania

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Flemington, NJ
    Posts
    463
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by petepaz View Post
    usually if i just flatten the image but not the cut line then it will work. i don't know if that is the correct procedure but it works

    Yup that's correct...Been seeing some other issues with Versaworks and Windows 7 Ultimate so if you have that platform, it may be something other than Versaworks.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    Posts
    18
    Post Thanks / Like
    Look up on youtube, the video will clear up any questions.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Lake Elsinore. CA
    Posts
    1,108
    Post Thanks / Like
    >create outlines > flatten artwork (from the layers tab) > move cut path to new layer > save as EPS version 4 (I add _cutfile to filename)
    Tried others and this works the best. No problems to date.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-09-2011, 08:07 PM
  2. VersaWorks-VP-300 CutContour not cutting the whole shape
    By bayviewsignworks in forum Roland
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-13-2010, 06:27 PM
  3. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12-29-2009, 03:10 PM
  4. CutContour not working
    By bayviewsignworks in forum Roland
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-04-2009, 05:27 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 


» Search for Fonts at Signs 101


Looking for fonts? We highly recommend MyFonts.com

MyFonts

» Search for Clipart, Fills and Digital Art at Signs 101


Search for clipart, fills and digital art at ExpressClipart.com


Keyword Search  
  Advanced Search

 


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v4.2.1

TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF USE

All posts and other information available at Signs 101 should be viewed as the opinion only of the poster. No claim is made that any information is accurate. As such, each reader should not rely on any information available here as accurate and should independently verify such accuracy. In addition, no claim is made that posts made here will be free from profanity, obscenity, rude, hurtful, libelous or insulting opinions of the poster. Such posts should, however, be reported to an Administrator for review.

Neither the owners, employees, officers nor directors of Signs 101 shall be held responsible or liable under any legal theory for any loss or injury resulting from any post, information made available, policy, action or lack of an action at Signs 101. Your use of this website is your acceptance of these terms and conditions of use.