» Google Translator



» September 2014

S M T W T F S
31 1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 1 2 3 4

 

» Log in

User Name:

Password:

Not a member yet?
Register Now!

» Today's Birthdays

None

 


Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: APD Plotter

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Mass
    Posts
    18

    APD Plotter

    I just bought a nice APD PD 2400 plotter on Ebay and can't seem to make it work with my Ana Designart software. I'm wondering if it is a serial plotter, like my old Ana plotter, but the cable looks parallel. Do I need an adapter to go from the serial size fitting to the parallel size. I know I'll have to get a driver disk to install a driver for it.

    Thanks,

    Bill

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    2,021
    Null Modem Adapter connection maybe?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    land of the debt FREE lifestyle.
    Posts
    7,939
    check your manual.. it will tell you what the port is.. Some ana's had a switch where you could select what port you wanted to use.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    7,074
    Your post is actually the first I've seen concerning ADP plotters. I as well as a few others here are a little curious about them and would be interested in knowing more. If you would, keeping us posted how the plotter works out for you and what you think of it would be nice. I myself would like to see one up close in person and in action.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Manchester, CT
    Posts
    1,338
    The customer service looks great, I almost got one on an auction and I contacted them and they answered all the quetions fully. Should have a USB port too.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    land of the debt FREE lifestyle.
    Posts
    7,939
    I agree . I would like to see one myself in person. If they are as good as the old anagraphs,, they will be nice to have around. I would like to believe they are good.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Manchester, CT
    Posts
    1,338
    http://www.apdevices.com/Plotter.html

    Website, it is kinda crappy though.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    cny
    Posts
    4
    i have a apd 2400 as a backup unit, it seems to be a good unit. have many hours on it and no issues. setting it up is tough, with the ports. but have no complaints on the plotter.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    GA, FL, AL, SC, NC, TN, KY, WV
    Posts
    2,105
    The APD cutters are very solid. Communication can be a bit of a pain but once done a few time, pretty straight forward.

    Relatively easy to repair as well if ever needed.

    If you ever owned an ANA Express, you will love the APD. Other than lifting it :)
    Bobby Fosson
    Founder and Operations Manager

    CS Sign Supply
    Sales: (877) 602-4237
    Support & Local: (678)735-3200
    Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/cssignsupply
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/cssignsupply


    Authorized Roland Dealer in the Southeast

    Software - Cutters - Printer Ink - Parts - Supplies
    http://www.cssignsupply.com

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    GA, FL, AL, SC, NC, TN, KY, WV
    Posts
    2,105
    Another note, APD is currently working on crop mark sensor integration for the next version. Hopefully available in the coming month or two.
    Bobby Fosson
    Founder and Operations Manager

    CS Sign Supply
    Sales: (877) 602-4237
    Support & Local: (678)735-3200
    Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/cssignsupply
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/cssignsupply


    Authorized Roland Dealer in the Southeast

    Software - Cutters - Printer Ink - Parts - Supplies
    http://www.cssignsupply.com

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Lutjebroek
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Rodi View Post
    http://www.apdevices.com/Plotter.html

    Website, it is kinda crappy though.
    Even crappier is that the drivers on that site are infected with a virus. W32 Gaelicum to be exact!!! I've notified them by email but they did not even respond...

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Mission Hills
    Posts
    2

    Apd 2400

    I just ran across a apd 2400 and could not get it to work with the usb connection but It worked the first try with the serial port. I'm new to this but it seems to be a very solid. all metal plotter. It cuts very clean and I'm thrilled so far.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1

    Question PD2400 and Illistrator

    Hello All,

    My wife Eve has an APD PD2400 plotter for vinyl cutting. She has some proprietary (crappy) software that she was using to send the plots to the plotter. The software used a hardware USB dongle to work... currently we cannot find the dongle. Kids? Knocked in trash?

    Anyway... if there is a driver that would allow her to plot directly from CS5 that would be awesome. I went to the ADP website to look for a driver... but all instances were removed. In other words... there is a link... but it goes nowhere. After reading the above... apparently they were virus infected... and the company solution was to just remove them and leave users stranded. (Thanks APD)

    Does anyone know of a driver that will allow us to plot from CS5? Or... another software package (reasonably priced) that will plot the files?

    Or... Windows 7 shows the device as "Unspecified 1" , "APD - PD2400\PD3000\PD4800 Plotter"... is there a way to identify the "device" as being a "printer" to the system?

    Really appreciate any help here folks!!!
    Jerry

    http://evetaitcreations.com
    http://askjerry.info

Similar Threads

  1. sprocketed plotter or feed plotter?
    By shakey0818 in forum Miscellaneous Plotters
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-25-2010, 08:37 AM
  2. using more than 1 plotter?
    By Creations in forum Miscellaneous Hardware
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-28-2008, 03:15 PM
  3. Which plotter is best.
    By Signworks of Algoma in forum Miscellaneous Plotters
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 05-24-2007, 01:36 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 


» Search for Fonts at Signs 101


Looking for fonts? We highly recommend MyFonts.com

MyFonts

» Search for Clipart, Fills and Digital Art at Signs 101


Search for clipart, fills and digital art at ExpressClipart.com


Keyword Search  
  Advanced Search

 


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v4.2.1

TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF USE

All posts and other information available at Signs 101 should be viewed as the opinion only of the poster. No claim is made that any information is accurate. As such, each reader should not rely on any information available here as accurate and should independently verify such accuracy. In addition, no claim is made that posts made here will be free from profanity, obscenity, rude, hurtful, libelous or insulting opinions of the poster. Such posts should, however, be reported to an Administrator for review.

Neither the owners, employees, officers nor directors of Signs 101 shall be held responsible or liable under any legal theory for any loss or injury resulting from any post, information made available, policy, action or lack of an action at Signs 101. Your use of this website is your acceptance of these terms and conditions of use.