28 29 30 1 2 3 4

User Name:

Password:

Not a member yet?
Register Now!

» Today's Birthdays

budgie Guest

Unhappy Problem with using way too much spot foil on gerber edge

Hi everyone, yes I'm a total newbie to this site and the world of printing. I have a gerber edge printer and a gerber Gs15 plotter. Purchased second hand so I cant get support for it!
    Having a foil print problem. When i print (Im using spot colours) It will print, say black, some of the design but then goes back for a second print to print the rest of the black it missed the first time! This can't be right! I'm using twice as much foil as I need, making it very expensive. My software is omega 1.56. Great site by the way. Any help or suggestions appreaciated. Thanks

It's not the machine. Check you spot assignments. Sometimes when you assign a spot color twice it shows up twice. In composer check 'select spot colors' after you've done your assignments to make sure you color isn't shoing up twice. If it is just select one, change the color, then change it back and that should fix it.

Sounds like you may have two blacks assigned in your design. Spot black and Process Black.

If it's going back and re-printing with the same color it's probably because the black isn't combined or you have strokes...?
    If you have black strokes + black print you could always select your strokes > Tools > Expand strokes and it will turn it into an outline which can be combined with the rest of your black shapes.

Quote Originally Posted by Mike Paul View Post
    Sounds like you may have two blacks assigned in your design. Spot black and Process Black.
    I'm gonna have to agree with Mike. Also, it's possible, if you're importing clipart, sometimes the "black" is made up of all the process colors thrown together. Thus requiring you to put the black cartridge in twice. Hope it helps.

Regards, Dane