Results 1 to 24 of 24
  1. #1
    College Senior D2S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    784
    Post Thanks / Like

    GX-24 Windows 7 Driver

    I am having a hell of a time getting my Roland GX 24 to run with Windows 7 64 bit did anyone have any tips or know how to get this to work?

    Adam

  2. #2
    PhD Replicator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    WA
    Posts
    10,243
    Post Thanks / Like
    32-bit Vista driver is all I can find : http://support.rolanddga.com/docs/Do.../rwd057107.exe

    I didn't have to load any drivers for my Camm-1 CX-300 on my Windows 7 32-bit production station.

    It was just plug and play though Parallel cable and USB . . . I tried both !

  3. #3
    College Senior D2S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    784
    Post Thanks / Like
    With Windows 7 64x bit I am getting it say no driver found when i plug and play and I am trying everything I can.. will try that Rep thanks

  4. #4
    PhD Replicator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    WA
    Posts
    10,243
    Post Thanks / Like
    I remember I did have some strange cutting issues at first using USB, so I went back to a parallel cable and now all is fine.

  5. #5
    College Sophomore
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    282
    Post Thanks / Like
    What if you tried flexi starter ? will that work Iam waiting a copy to come in to install on my 64bit.

  6. #6
    PhD Replicator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    WA
    Posts
    10,243
    Post Thanks / Like
    Yeah, I guess I forgot to ever ask what software you were using if any ?

  7. #7
    College Senior D2S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    784
    Post Thanks / Like
    I have been using Roland Cut Studio I design in Illustrator and then use the plugin

  8. #8
    PhD Bly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    1,983
    Post Thanks / Like
    Not sure how Windows 7 is set up but on my Vista 64 bit machine I found some devices simply would not work as there was no driver available.

  9. #9
    Bachelor of Arts
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    847
    Post Thanks / Like
    Shoot an email to roland, chances are they don't currently have 64 bit drivers.

    I'm forced to keep an xp machine for three pieces of hardware until the mfgs step up with 64 bit support.

  10. #10
    College Sophomore
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    282
    Post Thanks / Like
    don't know if this helps but i got win 7 64 bit and flexistarter 8.6 loaded it up using the flexi embeded GX-24 driver and usb. You can pick up a copy of flexi starter 8.6 with license on ebaY for $130, just set the rotate to 0 (not 90) on the plotter and it works fine. hope this helps flexi is a great buy for 130 on ebay.

  11. #11
    Merchant Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    146
    Post Thanks / Like
    There is a 64 Bit driver on the website. Navigating from this page, (http://www.rolanddga.com/owners/support/productList.asp) simply choose the GX-24, then choose Setup/Install Guides. On that list, there is a readme file that outlines the procedure to install the driver in Windows 7, since it is not plug and play. Once you have that, download the driver from the pull down Drivers list on the same page.

    It is still in beta, but we have been running it for some time here, and have had no issues with Vista 64 Bit. We have also had good luck with Windows 7, despite the somewhat convoluted installation procedure.

    Hope that helps.

  12. #12
    College Freshman
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    133
    Post Thanks / Like
    Just bumping this thread back up so I dont have to create a new one.

    Has everyone resolved their Windows 7 issues with the GX-24? D2S have you been able to get the Roland CutStudio software to work?

    I'm looking at upgrading my computer very soon and trying to decide if I can upgrade to 7 or if I'm stuck with XP. I have some video work I want to do but really need to be on 7 to do it.

    thanx

  13. #13
    College Sophomore stickygraphics12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    200
    Post Thanks / Like
    EMS, if you get windows 7, you can go to microsofts website and download the virtual PC and Windows XP for free! I am currently using Windows 7 Professional and Flexi 7.6 in the XP virual PC and can run ALL of my equipment and programs in both 7 and XP.

    It will take some time to configure everything , but don't be afraid of windows 7. They actually got it right this time!

  14. #14
    College Freshman
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    140
    Post Thanks / Like
    Dont you have to be at least using windows 7 Professional to run xp mode?

  15. #15
    College Sophomore stickygraphics12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    200
    Post Thanks / Like
    I know professional has a way of running older style programs in a compatibility mode. When I downloaded xp virual pc it said nothing about it.

  16. #16
    PhD OldPaint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    fl
    Posts
    9,224
    Post Thanks / Like
    i got WIN 7 RC version, and loaded ROLAND DRIVER to it, i can cut direct from COREL DRAW X3. to my CX-300...no problem

  17. #17
    College Freshman
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    43
    Post Thanks / Like
    Virtual PC must be WIn 7 Professional or higher. When you go to download it it asks what version you have. If you choose anything below Professional it won't let you download it.

    greenie

  18. #18
    College Freshman webguru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    188
    Post Thanks / Like
    Something I found on another forum that might or might not help.

    http://www.t-shirtforums.com/vinyl-c...s/t105672.html

  19. #19
    College Junior DRamm76's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    503
    Post Thanks / Like
    Remove ALL the previous installed programs and download the driver directly from Roland's site. Had all my customers do this and when it's done fresh from the start it will work without fail

  20. #20
    College Freshman
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    133
    Post Thanks / Like
    thanks for the replies, is the Roland driver supported for both 32 + 64 versions?

  21. #21
    Preppie
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    co
    Posts
    13
    Post Thanks / Like
    Roland did have a fix actually a 64 bit driver.I am using it on my gx24 works great with Vista 64.

  22. #22
    Bachelor of Arts
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    960
    Post Thanks / Like
    When upgrading your system and worried about drivers of any kind you need to take into account your new OS (32 vs 64). All drivers in the 64 bit world MUST be 64 bit and "signed" passing a number of test by MS and independent vendors. You can install a 32 bit driver on a 64 bit OS but only by rebooting the computer and selecting F8 where you can select to install any 32 bit driver. You will have to do this everytime you reboot or power on the computer.

    Its best is to contact the vendor to see if they support the 64 bit world.

  23. #23
    College Sophomore Haakon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Hordaland
    Posts
    382
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hi

    Bringing up an old thread, but since I'm in the same situation as the rest there is no point in starting a new thread about it.

    So I got my GX-24 and my new PC delivered on the weekend, its a i7 processor running 64bit Windows 7 (ultimate), and when I connect the GX-24 to the computer with USB, nothing happens (no popup with new hardware found or any other action). I then tried to connect it to my small netbook PC with windows XP, and new driver/roland GX-24 popped up at once.

    Did the plug and play work for you on Win7 64bit? Even if I install the drivers from the roland website (checked now, only beta versions available) the computer would have to recognise the hardware (gx-24) when you plug it into the usb/computer in order for it to work, or will that solve itself with the beta drivers installed?

    Also, I have Flexistarter 8.6v2 to run all my cutting tasks from, I installed it and the program itself works fine. Do I need drivers for the GX-24 at all then? Or do I just use the cutting drivers in the Production Manager and I'm set?

    Just asking in here before I do anything wrong, maybe I can get some help before the Roland dealer I got it from opens tomorrow (6PM in Norway now) :) Hopefully they have got some answers, but no guarantee..

  24. #24
    College Sophomore Haakon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Hordaland
    Posts
    382
    Post Thanks / Like
    Nevermind, I got it working now :) I followed the instructions in this link, and it works just fine, I cut a file directly from Illustrator CS5 and it worked perfectly

    Quote Originally Posted by webguru View Post
    Something I found on another forum that might or might not help.

    http://www.t-shirtforums.com/vinyl-c...s/t105672.html

Similar Threads

  1. Roland CAMM 1 PNC 960 Need windows 7 driver
    By george1948 in forum Roland
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-13-2013, 12:13 PM
  2. HP DesignJet 9000 windows 7 driver
    By II Jake in forum Hewlett Packard
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06-11-2012, 09:03 PM
  3. windows 7 driver error
    By chopper in forum Roland
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-21-2010, 01:23 AM
  4. ColorRip 2.0 vs Windows Print Driver
    By noregrets in forum Roland
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-05-2007, 09:34 PM
  5. Writting windows driver for plotter
    By DanSSK in forum General Software
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-09-2006, 12:04 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 


» Search for Fonts at Signs 101


Looking for fonts? We highly recommend MyFonts.com

MyFonts

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v4.3.0