» Google Translator



» August 2014

S M T W T F S
27 28 29 30 31 1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31 1 2 3 4 5 6

 

» Log in

User Name:

Password:

Not a member yet?
Register Now!

» Today's Birthdays

None

 


Results 1 to 24 of 24
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Mass
    Posts
    731

    GX-24 Windows 7 Driver

    I am having a hell of a time getting my Roland GX 24 to run with Windows 7 64 bit did anyone have any tips or know how to get this to work?

    Adam

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    10,255
    32-bit Vista driver is all I can find : http://support.rolanddga.com/docs/Do.../rwd057107.exe

    I didn't have to load any drivers for my Camm-1 CX-300 on my Windows 7 32-bit production station.

    It was just plug and play though Parallel cable and USB . . . I tried both !

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Mass
    Posts
    731
    With Windows 7 64x bit I am getting it say no driver found when i plug and play and I am trying everything I can.. will try that Rep thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    10,255
    I remember I did have some strange cutting issues at first using USB, so I went back to a parallel cable and now all is fine.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Arthur Ontario Canada
    Posts
    262
    What if you tried flexi starter ? will that work Iam waiting a copy to come in to install on my 64bit.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    10,255
    Yeah, I guess I forgot to ever ask what software you were using if any ?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Mass
    Posts
    731
    I have been using Roland Cut Studio I design in Illustrator and then use the plugin

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,557
    Not sure how Windows 7 is set up but on my Vista 64 bit machine I found some devices simply would not work as there was no driver available.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    848
    Shoot an email to roland, chances are they don't currently have 64 bit drivers.

    I'm forced to keep an xp machine for three pieces of hardware until the mfgs step up with 64 bit support.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Arthur Ontario Canada
    Posts
    262
    don't know if this helps but i got win 7 64 bit and flexistarter 8.6 loaded it up using the flexi embeded GX-24 driver and usb. You can pick up a copy of flexi starter 8.6 with license on ebaY for $130, just set the rotate to 0 (not 90) on the plotter and it works fine. hope this helps flexi is a great buy for 130 on ebay.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    144
    There is a 64 Bit driver on the website. Navigating from this page, (http://www.rolanddga.com/owners/support/productList.asp) simply choose the GX-24, then choose Setup/Install Guides. On that list, there is a readme file that outlines the procedure to install the driver in Windows 7, since it is not plug and play. Once you have that, download the driver from the pull down Drivers list on the same page.

    It is still in beta, but we have been running it for some time here, and have had no issues with Vista 64 Bit. We have also had good luck with Windows 7, despite the somewhat convoluted installation procedure.

    Hope that helps.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    133
    Just bumping this thread back up so I dont have to create a new one.

    Has everyone resolved their Windows 7 issues with the GX-24? D2S have you been able to get the Roland CutStudio software to work?

    I'm looking at upgrading my computer very soon and trying to decide if I can upgrade to 7 or if I'm stuck with XP. I have some video work I want to do but really need to be on 7 to do it.

    thanx

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Columbia, Pa
    Posts
    194
    EMS, if you get windows 7, you can go to microsofts website and download the virtual PC and Windows XP for free! I am currently using Windows 7 Professional and Flexi 7.6 in the XP virual PC and can run ALL of my equipment and programs in both 7 and XP.

    It will take some time to configure everything , but don't be afraid of windows 7. They actually got it right this time!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Bullhead City, AZ
    Posts
    137
    Dont you have to be at least using windows 7 Professional to run xp mode?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Columbia, Pa
    Posts
    194
    I know professional has a way of running older style programs in a compatibility mode. When I downloaded xp virual pc it said nothing about it.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    PENSACOLA FL.
    Posts
    8,536
    i got WIN 7 RC version, and loaded ROLAND DRIVER to it, i can cut direct from COREL DRAW X3. to my CX-300...no problem

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    NY, NY
    Posts
    43
    Virtual PC must be WIn 7 Professional or higher. When you go to download it it asks what version you have. If you choose anything below Professional it won't let you download it.

    greenie

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    174
    Something I found on another forum that might or might not help.

    http://www.t-shirtforums.com/vinyl-c...s/t105672.html

  19. #19
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Flemington, NJ
    Posts
    450
    Remove ALL the previous installed programs and download the driver directly from Roland's site. Had all my customers do this and when it's done fresh from the start it will work without fail

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    133
    thanks for the replies, is the Roland driver supported for both 32 + 64 versions?

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    13
    Roland did have a fix actually a 64 bit driver.I am using it on my gx24 works great with Vista 64.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    946
    When upgrading your system and worried about drivers of any kind you need to take into account your new OS (32 vs 64). All drivers in the 64 bit world MUST be 64 bit and "signed" passing a number of test by MS and independent vendors. You can install a 32 bit driver on a 64 bit OS but only by rebooting the computer and selecting F8 where you can select to install any 32 bit driver. You will have to do this everytime you reboot or power on the computer.

    Its best is to contact the vendor to see if they support the 64 bit world.
    Tony Teveris
    Senior Principal Software Engineer
    Gerber Technologies, A Gerber Scientific Company
    24 Industrial Road West
    Tolland, CT 06084 USA
    tteveris@gerberscientific.com
    tteveris@gspinc.com

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    351
    Hi

    Bringing up an old thread, but since I'm in the same situation as the rest there is no point in starting a new thread about it.

    So I got my GX-24 and my new PC delivered on the weekend, its a i7 processor running 64bit Windows 7 (ultimate), and when I connect the GX-24 to the computer with USB, nothing happens (no popup with new hardware found or any other action). I then tried to connect it to my small netbook PC with windows XP, and new driver/roland GX-24 popped up at once.

    Did the plug and play work for you on Win7 64bit? Even if I install the drivers from the roland website (checked now, only beta versions available) the computer would have to recognise the hardware (gx-24) when you plug it into the usb/computer in order for it to work, or will that solve itself with the beta drivers installed?

    Also, I have Flexistarter 8.6v2 to run all my cutting tasks from, I installed it and the program itself works fine. Do I need drivers for the GX-24 at all then? Or do I just use the cutting drivers in the Production Manager and I'm set?

    Just asking in here before I do anything wrong, maybe I can get some help before the Roland dealer I got it from opens tomorrow (6PM in Norway now) :) Hopefully they have got some answers, but no guarantee..

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    351
    Nevermind, I got it working now :) I followed the instructions in this link, and it works just fine, I cut a file directly from Illustrator CS5 and it worked perfectly

    Quote Originally Posted by webguru View Post
    Something I found on another forum that might or might not help.

    http://www.t-shirtforums.com/vinyl-c...s/t105672.html

Similar Threads

  1. Mimaki USB driver / windows 7
    By SAS in forum Mimaki
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-18-2011, 05:46 PM
  2. windows 7 driver error
    By chopper in forum Roland
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-21-2010, 12:23 AM
  3. FC7000-130 Windows Driver
    By SignsRus in forum Graphtec
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-19-2008, 02:35 PM
  4. ColorRip 2.0 vs Windows Print Driver
    By noregrets in forum Roland
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-05-2007, 09:34 PM
  5. Writting windows driver for plotter
    By DanSSK in forum General Software
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-09-2006, 12:04 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 


» Search for Fonts at Signs 101


Looking for fonts? We highly recommend MyFonts.com

MyFonts

» Search for Clipart, Fills and Digital Art at Signs 101


Search for clipart, fills and digital art at ExpressClipart.com


Keyword Search  
  Advanced Search

 


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v4.2.1

TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF USE

All posts and other information available at Signs 101 should be viewed as the opinion only of the poster. No claim is made that any information is accurate. As such, each reader should not rely on any information available here as accurate and should independently verify such accuracy. In addition, no claim is made that posts made here will be free from profanity, obscenity, rude, hurtful, libelous or insulting opinions of the poster. Such posts should, however, be reported to an Administrator for review.

Neither the owners, employees, officers nor directors of Signs 101 shall be held responsible or liable under any legal theory for any loss or injury resulting from any post, information made available, policy, action or lack of an action at Signs 101. Your use of this website is your acceptance of these terms and conditions of use.