» Google Translator



» July 2014

S M T W T F S
29 30 1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31 1 2

 

» Log in

User Name:

Password:

Not a member yet?
Register Now!

» Today's Birthdays

None

 


Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Southeast Georgia
    Posts
    12

    Gerber Graphix Advantage 6.0 blues

    I have the old 6.0 and tried to put it in my new computer as the old one is dying. It is asking for a password & I have no password. When I bought this from my brother in 2001 he didnt give me the original CD cases as he just had them thrown around his shop.
    Anyway, I understand that I may never get this to load, but the weird thing is I have never needed to use the P/W before, Why is it asking for it now?
    ...Also, to make it worse!
    Now that I have tried this I decided to go back to my old computer because the new one needs a P/W. Well... guess what! then old computer that I have been using for 10 years now wont work either because it says there is a "VIOLATION CODE 99" what ever that means.

    Does anybody know why this would happen? and Is there any solutions besides buying all new software? $$$$ WAAAA!!!! I already paid the $3,000.00 for the software & hate to have to go to Omega. THANKS FOR ANY HELP ;-)
    Bob

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Mid - South
    Posts
    2,327
    It's probably not compatible with a newer release of windows. The latest Omega 3 is worth the upgrade.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    SW PA
    Posts
    14,208
    I don't think GA 6.0 (I have 6.2) will work with anything higher than Win98SE.
    Try going to garage sales/Goodwill and picking up a decent ancient computer, you can probably get one for a song.
    My password wasn't in the CD case or anything, it was on a separate little card.
    Love....Jill

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    St. Pete. Florida
    Posts
    411
    I have GA 6.0 and it won't work on anything newer than Win98. The password that you need may be written on the dongle.
    We make 'em Hot & Fresh everyday!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    SW PA
    Posts
    14,208
    You're right, Cross. It is on the dongle.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    222
    Also, you should probably run the sentinel driver program (On your CD...sorry) and "tell" the program which port you are hooking the security dongle up to.

    The folks who mentioned windows compatibility are correct, although I have seen quite a few instances where there is some overlap and a version can run on a slightly newer version of windows where it is not supposed to, but this is a crapshoot.

    I will think about it and ask some people I know for suggestions...maybe Tony will jump in too at some point. I will post as I think of things.

    Craig

    <Edit> I found out that sentinel driver would be available in the gsp directory on your old computer if it is still working.
    Last edited by The Equipment Guy; 02-08-2010 at 09:43 AM. Reason: Added new info

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    222
    I found that I have the following CD's 6.0 Rev D and Rev E

    I will send you an email and we can arrange to get them to you, but lets see if I can find out which would work for you first...what Windows version are you using?

    (I know you emailed me, but I am posting here so that we can create history for others in case we come up with good info for the future...)

    Craig

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    222
    Sending you copies of 6.0 Rev D & E.

    I believe rev E was the upgrade for 98.

    Craig

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Southeast Georgia
    Posts
    12
    thanks all! When I said"NEW COMPUTER" I meant another WIN98. New in my shop. as my old one has boot-up problems. Im not trying to put it in a newer xp or anything like that. Im putting it in the same Windows, but a "good computer". Sorry I didnt make that clear.
    it is acting like I am trying to "upgrade " it or something and i am not. What freaks me out is ... I put it all back in the orig. computer and the original one wont let me in without a P/W now!!! ???? Did it brainwash the dongle??! You guys are great! I am excited that you are all trying to help me. Thanks so much.
    Bob

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Southeast Georgia
    Posts
    12
    Thank you so much! But, I tried the dongle number & its not the one it wants. It says on the screen that the number is on the original CD case. My brother lost those 1o years ago.
    I have the REVD & REVE CD, But the Dongle seems to remember that I made a mistake loading to the new computer & I put the Rev. E in first.Then later put the REV D in trying to get my "shadow files". That made the changes that created this mess. So I put everything back into a 3rd. COmp. & it still wont work..."IT WANTS A PASSWORD" :( Your all so great!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Southeast Georgia
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by Day Sign Co View Post
    It's probably not compatible with a newer release of windows. The latest Omega 3 is worth the upgrade.
    THanks, But Omega 3 is not an option for me right now. Its not a money thing, Its a lernin curve.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    9,506
    THanks, But Omega 3 is not an option for me right now. Its not a money thing, Its a lernin curve
    3.0 is pretty user friendly and if you have been running any Gerber software, you most likely won't have a whole lot of trouble learning the new software. 3.0 does a lot of cool stuff, but if all you want is to do what you did in the old program, it's pretty much all there

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    946
    On the Omega CD there should be a DOS application called RBLOCK.EXE.

    This application will read the dongle and give you a report of what it thinks is on the it.
    Tony Teveris
    Senior Principal Software Engineer
    Gerber Technologies, A Gerber Scientific Company
    24 Industrial Road West
    Tolland, CT 06084 USA
    tteveris@gerberscientific.com
    tteveris@gspinc.com

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah
    Posts
    17
    I was able to get 6.0 and 6.2 to run on XP, but the biggest issues were dongle related.

    Also had to make sure to run as admin - couldn't be run as a local non-admin user. As for asking for a password - it sounds like dongle issues to me too. I think Tony's got the right idea troubleshooting from there.

    As for the old PC, well, it sounds like a different issue - I'd suggest troubleshooting one at a time ;)

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Southeast Georgia
    Posts
    12
    Thank you all. Cool! You got it to run on XP? thats good. I didnt know it was possible.
    I am going to run the Rblock and see whats up. Havent had a chance to today. I am trying to see demos of Omega on the net but every place I go its DL's of stuff that Im not familiar with. I hooked up my Signlab fastcard today so I can at least cut stuff for a while on the 4B. Its a 10 year old fast card also, but works ok. Have a good day.
    Bob

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    222
    If you contact your local Gerber distributor they can get you a copy of the latest Gerber software disk without the dongle, should be for free, and it will load as a demo copy...no saves no output, but fine for checking it out.

    Craig

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Southeast Georgia
    Posts
    12
    ok, thank you. I will contact them.
    I ran a Rblock and find that the dongle is for Version 4.10

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    222
    I think 4.1 is the wrong number...unless it is really old, the 4 series was a free upgrade back in the days of diskettes. There is probably another number on there somewhere.

    Craig

Similar Threads

  1. Gerber Graphix Advantage 6.0 question
    By artistedesign in forum Gerber Omega, Graphix Advantage & MacImprint
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-12-2010, 01:04 PM
  2. Graphix Advantage Help with Gerber GS-15
    By 1toolmaker in forum Gerber
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-03-2009, 08:18 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 


» Search for Fonts at Signs 101


Looking for fonts? We highly recommend MyFonts.com

MyFonts

» Search for Clipart, Fills and Digital Art at Signs 101


Search for clipart, fills and digital art at ExpressClipart.com


Keyword Search  
  Advanced Search

 


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v4.2.1

TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF USE

All posts and other information available at Signs 101 should be viewed as the opinion only of the poster. No claim is made that any information is accurate. As such, each reader should not rely on any information available here as accurate and should independently verify such accuracy. In addition, no claim is made that posts made here will be free from profanity, obscenity, rude, hurtful, libelous or insulting opinions of the poster. Such posts should, however, be reported to an Administrator for review.

Neither the owners, employees, officers nor directors of Signs 101 shall be held responsible or liable under any legal theory for any loss or injury resulting from any post, information made available, policy, action or lack of an action at Signs 101. Your use of this website is your acceptance of these terms and conditions of use.