User Name:

Password:

Not a member yet?
Register Now!

» Today's Birthdays

None

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Homemade Application Fluid??

Hey guys! I have been using ActionTac (by Clearstar) for the last 6 years and found it to be my favorite application fluid so far.

We use it to clean the surface prior to install, and during wet installs.

The only thing is, I'm tired of spending $25/gallon! SO my question is, how many of you make your own application fluid? what are u using (materials and ratio) AND do you use it to clean the surface AND install?

Let me know...trying to cut costs just slightly.

-Matt

water and baby shampoo...

i know nothing of application fluid. but reading the previous answer sounds like the goal it so mix water and surfactant. the best "household" surfactant is bissell hard floor cleaner. it's a non-sudsing soap. perfect from breaking the surface tension of water without making bubbles.

I remember an old Sign Craft back in the early 90s had a reader that mentioned windshield washer solvent, same stuff you use in your vehicle. Use it right out of the jug, don't dilute it.

I have used it for almost 20 years with absolutely no problems. No failures, I do everything wet, even coroplast. Spray the application tape with the solvent to speed up the process and the tape just about falls off.

I use it on glass if the vinyl is fairly large. I know some members here will disagree but it works for me.

I was paying 99c a gallon, now it's gone up to almost $2 a gallon, still cheap. I wlll use soap and water in a pinch.