Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Preppie
    Post Thanks / Like

Big time newbie starting business making magnetic signs

Hello, I'd really appreciate advice on a number of topics. First, I just bought an HP 5000PS 60 inch plotter. It is a monster. Is this a good printer to print on vinyl for magnetic vehicle signs? I know it's overkill, but I bought it with the anticipation of branching out beyond magnetic signs one day. Also, it has Adobe Postscript 3 on it, and I see this software is not compatible with more modern windows operating systems. Is is best for me to use a dedicated laptop with Windows 2000, for example? And finally, I am a total rookie at all this. I am a fast learner, but tend to learn best by actually doing it, as opposed to reading a manual. Can anyone suggest an individual or a class I could take in a week or so to learn how to make magnetic signs? I would be okay with traveling anywhere within 500 miles of Raleigh NC, and getting a hotel and learning. Any one of you experts, perhaps? Perhaps I could be a fly on the wall and learn without slowing down your business. I'd really appreciate help. Thank you, Doug

Post Thanks / Like
    Mags are easy. Charge between $24.95 and $250.00 a pair. Warn the customer that they will destroy the paint on their vehicle if they don't take them off regularly and clean both the back of the mags and the vehicle. Contour cut with an exacto blade if need be.

PhD
    Post Thanks / Like
    Once you figure it out it will be like printing free money.

Post Thanks / Like
    This is what I purchased when starting out.Big time newbie starting business making magnetic signs-magdummies-jpg

Post Thanks / Like

Post Thanks / Like
    Is Old Paint within 500 miles of you?
    Read that comment.

Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Apachedesert View Post