• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

700W and print modes

Alpha Star

I’m new to this idea that so many settings are controlled by the media profile, and I find it quite limiting.

With my other printers, if I want high res, it’s just an option I can click in the RIP. Same with white ink and unidirectional mode. They’re both individual options.

Unless I’m not understanding, this is completely different with HP Latex? If I want unidirectional, it’s a profile I have to choose, and that profile can’t be used to print white. White ink would require its own profile, which forces bi-direction. And 1200 dpi is available, but I can’t even find that profile.

Why not just let me choose what I want when I print?

HP Latex printers introduced since 2013 are Contone (continuous tone) devices. Most large-format printers are Halftone devices.

With Latex devices, the media package on the printer contains a number of Print Modes (at least one, but often times more). These print modes define many attributes of print, including the inks used, ink density, pass count, temperature settings, ICC Profile etc. While some of these are modifiable, others are not. Most print modes are bidirectional, but there are small number of unidirectional print modes on certain Latex models.

The term Profile should reference the ICC Profile. The term Print Mode is a more encompassing term that includes both mechanical parameters and color-related data.

dypinc

The term Profile should reference the ICC Profile. The term Print Mode is a more encompassing term that includes both mechanical parameters and color-related data.
Amen to that. The term profile is really confusing when referring to a Print Mode in a Media Preset.