• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Need Help American Flag vector file

Rexerex

I'm volunteering at a Air Museum and I'm looking for a free simple American Flag that I could import into VinylMaster. I want to create a paint mask to recreate a small flag onto a Huey Helicopter we are restoring from the Viet Nam era. It was probably hand painted in the field originally. I could create the graphics from scratch but I figure there's got to be a easier way if I can import a SVG or something.
I'm kinda new to this stuff.

Behrmon

Pr. Bear-Mon
Yup plenty of American flag vectors available for free. I’m no expert but might want to check which version would have been on that bird as I think there was a flag change during the Vietnam war but I could easily be wrong.

Rexerex

Did you try typing "American flag vector clipart" into a Google search?
Yes I did before I sent this request to the forum and found lots of clipart and jpg, png flags. I was thinking there would be svg's which would might import as an editable format but the ones I found listed as svg were for sale not free. I found one free svg but it displayed an error and would not work as expected.
I finally used a high resolution png and tried the tracing process built into my program. That seemed to work and after some editing I now have a "Red Stripes" mask and a "White Stars-Stripes" mask. I'll mask off the Blue rectangle and paint it first. A svg might have saved me some time but volunteer stuff is free labor. This was a learning experience but I still want to know how a svg file would work as an import file.
Anyone want to educate me?

Bobby H

Arial Sucks.
Try Wikipedia:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flag_of_the_United_States