• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Beginer Illustrator 4, versaworks question.

Salmoneye

I am having problems when I bring certain files in my rip and they won't fit in the assigned area and it wants to split my sign into two prints. Usually I am finding that I have some little thing sitting off of the active art board. This time I am finding that the bounding box on one of my logos is much larger than the print area of the logo itself. I can't resize the bounding box without resizing the logo. Sorry, I am really new to Illustrator.
Tanks in advance,
Sam

Fred Weiss

Merchant Member
Download this Illustrator plugin, unzip it and install it in your Illustrator plugins folder. it adds a number of object selection capabilities to your Select menu.

One useful one for the problem you are describing is the ability to select "Stray Points". Once selected, delete them and watch your bounding box truly bound your graphic.

cmaxdesigns

Hmmm

Is your logo Vector based (designed in illustrator or corel). If it is then my next question is have you used a clipping path to clip a portion of the logo? This would make the bounding box larger then the logo itself. If it was created in Photoshop or pixel based it may have some elements inside the file that the human eye cannot detect but resides outside the actual logo itself. Just some thoughts that came to mind.

Salmoneye

Thank you for the info Fred. CMAX, I think that this logo came as a raster based image and I traced and converted it. I can't find a pixel out there but let's say that there is one. Isn't there a way that I can mechanically reduce the size of the box to crop out the unwanted part without resizing the image?

jasonx