• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Gerber Edge II color registration issues

arcman

Hi,

I've had this equipment for a few years but never got around to printing more than one color. Doing a freebie for a friend. I rarely use this stuff and am willing to admit I'm a total beginner.

Graphic is perfect in Omega 5.0. Spot color output to printer is blue, yellow, red then black. Image is around 4"x5". I've printed up to five in a row and from the first to the last, all are off by a few thousandths. Looks like each color has a left shift.

Sprockets are clean, the Oracal white vinyl is a few years old and it does show a very small amount of shrinkage when looking at it with a magnifying glass (I'm guessing this could be the issue?). You'd think if it was shrinkage related, all colors would be effected the same. I do not have any kind of tensioner and the vinyl is loose and not being pulled off the roll.

Time for new vinyl? Is there any way to compensate for the color shift in Omega?

Thanks.

Attachments

• close up bad register.jpg
    close up bad register.jpg
    98.9 KB · Views: 438

Fred Weiss

Merchant Member
What is happening is that the top colors are knocking out the colors beneath them leaving a thin unprinted area. You can use the Chokes and Spreads feature of Composer to create overprints where the colors touch or you can convert all to a bitmap and print it with a high LPI setting.

Billct2

Yep, choke & spread, but it can take some experimenting to find the best settings. Also sometimes I have issues when doing more than a few colors in one print.

arcman

Thanks guys,