• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Hello new member with an old roland problem

Squeeg

So I've been producing vehicle wraps for close to 4 years and have always had a problem with certain colors shifting with sun light. I use a Roland XC 540 proIII powered by roland versaworks. We use 3M IJ-1080v3 vinyl laminated with 3M 8518 laminate. All wrap designs are designed using Photoshop.

we are currently wrapping a boat. The design for the boat is tan and grey. We are to match the tan color of the upholstery. the print produced matches perfect in the install bay but turns a pee green color when outside in the sun. This is a problem we have had for years. Why is this happening! We have produced these colors(tans & Greys) with success in the past apparently by luck. I would love to know why this happens. If anyone can help please let me know. Sooner the better my boat customer is loosing patients!

DavidT

There is no easy solution, under different light the pigments will reflect different colours.

You can Print a bunch of swatches and get the customer to approve in the light that the print will most often be displayed.

Printing with CMYK, Lc, LM and light black will hopefully allow more neutral and consistent grays

David

LittleSnakey

Alot has to do with the lamps you are using in the fluorescent fixture, particularly the color of the lamp and what is overlooked most is the CRI, color rendering index of the lamp. A lamp with a part number F32T8/741 has worse color rendering than lamp F32T8/841both are the same color, 4100k Best would be F32T8/941
This page explains some more.
http://www.topbulb.com/color-rendering-index/

Have a look on this wikipedia-article about "Metamerism".

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Metamerism_(color)