• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

New to channel letters

Biggermens

Hi everyone

I am looking on getting into channel letters, i have never done this before, i am very mechanically inclined
i watch a few YouTube videos ( I am now a expert ;) )
I have a cnc router and a small machine shop

What else would i need to get started ???
I am not looking to do this full time, manual machines would be ok

Thanks
Biggs

Texas_Signmaker

Very Active Signmaker
Best to buy from a wholesaler because you need the letters to be UL certified if you want any chance to legally install them.

Besides a CNC you'd need Acubend machine

GB2

Old Member
You don't need any $75,000 machines to try it. Since you already have a CNC router, at the very least you would need a sheet metal brake, a notcher and possibly a manual channel letter brake of some type, along with some hand tools which you must have already, drill, rivet gun, etc. You could manually notch the returns where the bends are but if you need to do curves then you need multiple notches, which you could do by hand but it would be very tedious.

Last edited:

Texas_Signmaker

Very Active Signmaker
What's an Acubend? We do all of ours with the CNC and a pair of breaks.
Some folks prefer the Rouff notcher and then to hand form them. Some folks let a machine have all the fun... Looking very hard at an accubend myself...
Its a machine that bends the metal into the shapes of letters.

Texas_Signmaker

Very Active Signmaker
I forgot the /s
Like I said, looking really hard at one myself, to buy that is. Do you have one?