• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Newbie and need advice on Printer/Plotter

lkreis12

Yes I am a newbie and am in search of some advice :)

I have been researching for about a month and still am not sure which direction to go in... I am in search for the best printer/plotter machine to invest in. I mainly want to design decals, stickers, and venture out into designing apparel (heat transfers.)

I have looked into the Roland BS-N 20 and the Gerber Edge but am wondering if there is a cheaper option out there... Also which would be the best option in comparing materials. I am having a hard time finding out how long the ink last, ect. Not that price is a major factor because I do want a quality machine. I just don't want to buy a machine and regret it later.
I'd appreciate any suggestions!

Thanks!!!
~Lisa

lkreis12

Thanks for such fast replies.
Pat- I have looked at this site for answers but I find it hard to understand what most posts are talking about sense I don't know much about the machines. The closest dealer is over 300 miles away so it is very hard for me see what they are talking about. If you know of a post that can help me please let me know.
Also, as of right now I am looking into creating decals for cars, windows, and stickers for hard hats, etc. I know it may be easier for me to just order them but I am a very creative person and my husband spends a bloody fortune ordering decals and stickers for his work/employees that makes an investment in a machine well worth it.
I am not sure if the Roland BNS20 is the right machine since it does both printing and cutting, or if I should go with two different machines... Or maybe I am making this more complicated than it really is... :)

4R Graphics