• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Newbie with a PrismJET printer and LXi Software

dwilliams29

Premium Subscriber
I am new to the vinyl print world, very green I'd say.

We purchased a PrismJet 54" and LXi software last July and have struggled with learning the software ever since. If I create the logo/images in LXI, I am able to remove the contour cuts I don't want to use. If I import a non Vector file, I can delete the contour cuts on the screen, but when load the print job in the Graphtec, it's like I didn't remove the marks. Another issue I've had is with printing the correct color of the image as apparently there is a huge difference between RGB and CMYK. I've changed my settings to the Pantone, as that was suppose to help, but it is impossible to get a Hunter Orange from CMYK in my experience. Or a royal/bright blue or a RED red. It's a lot of color creating with trial and error.

The reason we purchased the PrismJET was due to the test print that was done while we were onsite, but apparently that took a lot of "configuring" to get those bright/vibrant colors that I have simply not been able to achieve.

Has anyone had these issue and overcome it? If so, how?

Thanks in advance.

GaSouthpaw

Profane and profane accessories.
Most shops will print a large (48" or so wide x whatever) PMS swatch sample and put it up in their printer's area to more easily match colors- because just because it's supposed to be PMS032 (as an example), the printer doesn't hit that color and they end up adding/subtracting ink levels to get a better print.