• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Onyx + Mimaki CJV + PerfCut/HalfCut = Not Possible?

Caleb Solano

Note: This is my first post (I was recommended this forum by someone on Facebook)

I have been using RasterLink for several years with our Mimaki CJV150 printers but have found myself frustrated with arbitrary file/job limits in RasterLink so I am looking into another RIP software. The crowd favorite seemed to be Onyx so I signed up for a trial of that, but I seem to have hit a snag.

Onyx does not seem to support the concept of "Perf-Cut or Half-Cut" (cutting through the backing sheet most of the time and periodically lowering to kiss pressure to create a "perforated" cut).

I could have also worked around this is Onyx supported the concept of "tools" or "cut conditions" as I have already created presets in the printer settings for what I need...but alas Onyx only seemed to support sending an specified Pressure/Speed/Offset to the cutter.

If I only need a PerfCut I believe I can tell Onyx to use the "current machine settings", but as soon as I need more than a single type of cut line for a given job, I am out of luck.

Thank you in advance. Any help is appreciated.

Solventinkjet

DIY Printer Fixing Guide