• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Removal of dimensional letters

Bert D'Souza

Hi all,

I'm new to the sign business and I have a client that would like to remove an existing logo (in an in-door reception area) and replace that logo with their current logo.

I believe that the wall has wallpaper on it and I will need to remove the old dimensional letters (attached with studs, I believe) with minimum damage to the wall.

What is the best way to go about doing that? And, how should I cover/fix the holes left from the original logo?

Thank you, in advance, for your input.

Bert.

Gino

Premium Subscriber
You're gonna need to provide pictures. You're being far too vague with all of your... I believe stuff. It either is or it ins't and you'll need to go and do an actual physical site survey.

You're gonna ruin the wall paper and the walls will need to be patched, so unless the new stuff completely covers it, you're screwed.

MikePro

never looks right patching&painting a studded wall unless you're/they're gonna do the WHOLE thing.... which most likely won't happen if you're the one already contracted to remove. just yank the letters out of the wall, and design your new signage to include a backer panel that covers the old stud holes.

Bert D'Souza

Thanks for your feedback MikePro & Gino. I have attached a pic of the wall with the existing logo.

Existing Reception Dimensional Sign.png

Billct2

With that setup I would recommend removing the existing logo have the clients painting contractor patch and repaint the whole wall (unless you want to handle it also) and then install the new logo

Bert D'Souza

That's probably the best solution, Billct2 - I wouldn't want to be blamed for not matching the paint-job perfectly. Thanks.

rossmosh