• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Gerber Sabre 408 Error Z Encoder/Motor

Mikexx

I'm a newbie to this machine and had it working for a short while.

Recently, when turning on the machine I got the above error. I also have an illuminated Red LED for AMP FAULT.
All the green LEDs are lit apart from SPIN #2

My background is in embedded systems (mix of electronics and software) so hope to delve deeper into this in a meaningful way.

I can confirm the Z-Limit switch is functioning as expected.

Any help would be appreciated. Also any pointers to the Service Manual would also be appreciated.

Mikexx

Attachments

• IMG_20230902_103835.png
    IMG_20230902_103835.png
    1.7 MB · Views: 129

David A

Not sure it's referred by the error code, but take the top cover off the spindle carrier and look to be sure the circular clamp that holds the motor drive to the z-axis worm gear isn't broken - try to move it by hand - it's not always easy to see if there's a crack. A broken clamp might be the cause of the z-axis error.

Mikexx

Not sure it's referred by the error code, but take the top cover off the spindle carrier and look to be sure the circular clamp that holds the motor drive to the z-axis worm gear isn't broken - try to move it by hand - it's not always easy to see if there's a crack. A broken clamp might be the cause of the z-axis error.

Many thanks for the idea.

I have the cover off and I can rotate the work and can confirm the motor is connected. All looks and behaves in a mechanically sound way. Before I get the long 'beep' the motor and screw does 'inch' down a small motor step. I have also checked the limit switch which operates as expected. s/c when z-axis is down and o/c when the limit switch is operated.