• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

46" Mutoh Falcon Outdoor - just bought used, cyan and black problems, and a question

MrTopgun21

First off let me say I'm a newbie to the solvent ink world, but I've been reading a lot on this forum and learning. My previous printer was a Epson 9880 aqueous printer. I recently bought a Mutoh Falcon Outdoor printer from a local sign shop, they upgraded to a 60". It appeared to be well taken care of. When I bought it, it had the cleaning solution cartridges installed. The lines had been flushed before storage, etc.
I put new ink in it today and ran some tests after a few head cleanings. And the printer seems to be dropping out black and cyan. Attached are my test prints. I turned the printer off and slid the head over and the capping stations concern me. There's ink splattered around inside near one station and the other looks normal (?).

So I took a picture and was wondering if someone could shed some light on this? It doesn't look normal for ink to be splattered all over on one cap and the other looks dry.

Help?! :)
Thanks,
Steve

Attachments

• DSC_0026.jpg
    DSC_0026.jpg
    66.2 KB · Views: 138
  • DSC_0019.jpg
    DSC_0019.jpg
    53.5 KB · Views: 116
  • DSC_0029.jpg
    DSC_0029.jpg
    11.3 KB · Views: 101

CRD

If I am not mistaken the machine use Lc and Lm and Black in the left head. So the left part of the maintenance looks all black.
Clean all around the maintenance station and the head caps with clean fluid.
Put a syringe on the left capping part out put and try to suck ink through it.
Also check if all tubes on the pump are free of dried ink.
if the frontpanel is removed you have better sight on the cleanign cycle.