• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

(Any Good?) Canon imagePROGRAF iPF8100, 44"

Tom Printz

Hello,

I work for a helicopter tour company and I do all of our printing in-house. Self-taught, I've done a few van and box truck wraps, signage for our heliport and various other applications. I had been using Color Rip on an old Windows XP computer and a Roland SP300. I know, archaic to say the least.

Recently the Roland has given up the ghost and we are looking to replace it with something wider to help with vehicle wraps, but we don't want to spend a fortune on a replacement. I know that generally "you get what you pay for" but we are seriously considering getting the Canon imagePROGRAF iPF8100, 44" printer.

We are doing due diligence of course and would like to hear any first-hand experience you might have with this printer. You guys do this for a living every day and I've gotten some good advice here in the past so I'll trust your opinions. Does it come with any rip software or do I need to buy it separately? What kind/brand of ink does it use? How is the print quality, etc. Anything you can tell me would be helpful.

We're going to be wrapping two Honda minivans, a box truck and 3 passenger vans. Can this printer handle the workload well? And what size/ brand/ model laminator would you recommend to go with this printer?

Thanks in advance!!

Biker Scout

Great printer... if you are only intending on printing posters and other paper type prints FOR INDOOR USE ONLY.