• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Bobcat Upgrade

Simsvan

Hello there, I know some of you fellows have issues with cheap chinese plotters, but I thought I'd share an upgrade with the others who enjoy challenging hardware. My bobcat has given 3 years of sterling service for my t-shirt printing business here in Windsor, UK, (except for regular re-plugging of the usb cable to get the cutter recognised), but I felt uncomfortable with the pinch wheel setup, I'm an engineer by trade and 3 little pinch wheels is asking for alignment problems. So I cut a 600mm by 350mm panel of 3mm plastic sheet which I feed into the cutter as a flat bed. A light spray of photo mount means any piece of garment vinyl placed ontop will stay positioned for perfect cutting. A pen in the blade holder has drawn a reference outline of the biggest cutting page possible, and a matching template page on CoralDraw means any size design for a shirt is always cut exactly within the page edge, and offcuts are now used as the plastic sheet holds them firmly. I re-spray every 10 pages, and my rolls of vinyl can be cut to fit cutting area exactly.

Is there such a thing as an off-the-shelf flatbed vinyl cutter out there? I really like the way mine looks when cutting, the bed shooting in and out (watch the stomach!), and I do get a buzz out of using all my offcuts.

Apologies to the purists out there, as well as cutting I work on tv shows like Junkyard War (Scrapheap Challenge over here in UK) so I fix rather then chuck.

Richard

Jim Jarriel

Off The Shelf Flat Bed Cutter

Hi Richard,