• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

CJV150-160 USB Connection Lost During Printing

AM

Hello all!

So I have an interesting situation here with the CJV150. I started with the company I work for almost a year ago and I have never used a Mimaki before. The initial setup was a dedicated computer running Windows 7 and directly connected via USB since that's all that can be used. I never had any issues with the machine originally.

We moved to a new building and because of the original layout we set up, the original computer was used and it was fine, but it was physically farther away from my main workstation and I had to constantly transfer files over the network. I eventually installed the printer on my main computer and because of the distance, I bought a 50 foot USB cable with repeaters that are in-line on the cable itself. This worked fine without an issue.

We moved the printer closer to my computer, but I kept using the same cable as there wasn't an issue. Well, about 2 months ago I would be printing something and the printer would just stop printing. Rasterlink says that it lost communication via the USB connection and that was basically it. The printer had never had this issue before and it's completely random as when it happens or what file or material, etc. When I restart the printer or change USB ports, Rasterlink sometimes is perfectly fine like all is well and it COULD print fine and actually finish or it could do the same thing.