• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Contour Cutting FoamCore/GatorBoard/Coroplast, etc

fdgrafius

I'm pretty new to the sign business and have now taken on some jobs that are slightly beyond my know-how:

What is the consensus on contour cutting FoamCore/GatorBoard, etc.?

I have two projects, both vinyl prints mounted on GatorBoard, that need to be contour cut. One is essentially a 4' diameter circle, and the other is a life size cut out of a person.

Here is what we have tried so far:

1. Cut by hand with an X-Acto knife. Result: not very clean, lots of scalloping from the hand operation.
2. Jig Saw. What a mess!
3. Hand-Held Router Result: okay, but still not a very clean circle.

Is the answer, "Try, Try, again, newbie," or is there another option we're missing.

Thanks in advance for your input.

-Frank

TwoNine

If you want to hand-cut, use a string and a pin for circles. Jigsaws are good - and yes, they are messy (like most sign work). Hand held router - same technique as a knife (string and a pin)....

If you're still a little shaky - overcut the circle and sand it down to perfection with a unidirectional sander (belt, orbital). This is probably best option for you it sounds like

Or - outsource to someone with a CNC router. - No mess and prefect circles. Just end up about 80 bucks poorer. ;)

-Chad

carter75