• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Cut files and HPLatex 64 Cutter

Vector Vinyl

Does anyone make cut files separate than print files for any reason? I’ve had this question for the last two years after upgrading to a 700w/HP 64 cutter. The printer is great but i struggle with the cutter.

I’ve been using my summa D120 for 7 years and i love it. I’ve replaced half the parts and even spliced sensor wires to keep it working. Because i was originally self taught and didn’t have Flexi, tutorials online showed me how to make a separate print file and then AI cut file to be used with summacut. Later on i learned the barcode process (and i’m sure there’s tricks i don’t know) but when it comes to certain jobs like cutting labels it seems wasteful to me. By making the cut file separate and using 4 scan points, i can really utilize the whole printable area which is really valuable when printing thousands of labels.

Is anyone else familiar with this process? HPs 64 latex cutter seems to block you from cutting any way besides with the barcode. Even when i go to OPOS parameters and set it to “mark” it still wants the barcode line, even if there is no barcode in the cut file. I can even get it to work with summacut besides this issue.