• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Need Help Cutting DiBond after flatbed printing

JackRabbitNC

We bought a flatbed over a year ago, and love it. We cannot afford a Colex table to follow right now. Our main issue is the scratching of the DiBond on the cut edge. We have a shear that we have rigged with velcro, magnet, etc. Have tried cutting pieces first - not practical at all & time consuming. Has anyone else found a solution other than a cutter table?

Mosh

Cutting with a saw is our last resort. If you have a shear just put some application tape on the printed panels to protect them while cutting the down. We do this everyday. Also we put some velcro (fuzzy side) on the bottom of the shear hold-down. Hope this helps.

RabidOne

I worked in a shop that had a multi material wall cutter. Not ridiculously expensive and did a decent job cutting Alupanel.

Boudica

Back to "educational purposes"
We used to cut it by hand, with a 9mm utility knife and a straight edge. Just takes a sharp blade(s) and a lot of passes. Then we got a fletcher wall cutter and it's awesome. For UV prints on the flatbed, we precut the ACM before printing - found that cutting after printing can cause the ink to flake and chip on the edges.

Get one of these:
1671043499891.png

RabidOne

We used to cut it by hand, with a 9mm utility knife and a straight edge. Just takes a sharp blade(s) and a lot of passes. Then we got a fletcher wall cutter and it's awesome. For UV prints on the flatbed, we precut the ACM before printing - found that cutting after printing can cause the ink to flake and chip on the edges.

Get one of these:
View attachment 163025
Exactly what I was talking about.

netsol