• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Need Help Didn't notice ruined Laminating roller when purchased at auction.

Regarding ROyal Soveriegn RSL-2701 "School" Laminator, 27"

Obviously there was not oportunity for me to try before buy and I didn't notice that the upper laminating roller or "feed" roller has loose rubber on it. I am actually new to laminating (the name Mike the Laminator is sarcasm). I am very adapt at fixing equipment but I can vulcanize rubber onto a roller or anything like that so before I pay $400 for either a used roller or recoating this one, I need to know if this is a sign that something more serious is wrong with the machine, like it overheating or something. I do not know how it was used or abused in the past.

I can tell you that the machine never lights up as preheated properly. It just keeps flashing regardless of temperature, and the upper roller feels hotter than the lower one when I hold my finger half an inch from it (I know that isn't very scientific testing) yet despite the loose and curled up rubber on the roller, the posters I have tried laminating (just inkjet paper, 24 lb) come out close to perfect, just wrinkling on the sides a bit and occasionally a wrinkle in the middle…not bad if you knew just HOW incredibly loose the rubber is on roller. I mean it can be pulled out 3/4" from the core with fingers before machine is turned on.