• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

File setup/color management options

nateca

Hello,
(sorry in advance for the spelling)
I'm fairly new to wide-format printing, but have some experience with direct to garment printing, so not totally useless:) I'm wondering if someone can provide some insight with the proper way to setup files for outputting to versaworks(something i'm new at as well). What I would like to know:

Illustrator:
When outputting, should spot color be used at all times? What settings shouod be configured when doing the following
edit-color settings(what should be used for working spaces and color management policies)
edit-assign profile(what should be assigned)

also, when outputting thru illustrator, what settings should be configured in the print dialouge box(general,colormanagement, output etc)

Photoshop:
same questions as above regarding color settings and assigning profile. but also, should any conversion occur

same questions about the dialouge box, after print is chosen, what should be configured in the resulting printer dialouge box.

are there any other settings that matter when printing? I desgin in RGB, is this sufficient for outputting, or should i change to CMYK?

also, what about icc profiles? monitor color profiles? pretty much need to know everything.. sorry for being so vauge. any help would be appreciated. thanks

4R Graphics

WOW where to start!
Ok spot colors I never use them reason being is that I dont print with spot colors you use CMYK spot colors are usually a custom color that is made to print just that spot (Like screen printing)

I dont use versaworks so maybe someone can help you with that part.

Ok color mgmt here is the thing you need to have a process and use that process always.