• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Free font site

rjssigns

I've noticed that a lot of stuff on the "free" sites is for personal use only.

Something else to remember is many of those fonts aren't fully developed and will cause software and RIP issues.
I have lots of experience with this in a school setting.
Students are warned repeatedly not to go to those sites yet still do.
Then they complain that the file won't print, won't load, has weird artifacts etc...

The HP Indigo in the lab will flag the file or it won't load in the RIP. There have been instances where "free" fonts will crash the RIP.
Takes a looooong time to reboot. On the order of 20 to 30 minutes.

Wide format is less of an issue but those "free" fonts have still caused rip and print issues.

Pauly

Printrade.com.au
I've noticed that a lot of stuff on the "free" sites is for personal use only.

Something else to remember is many of those fonts aren't fully developed and will cause software and RIP issues.
I have lots of experience with this in a school setting.
Students are warned repeatedly not to go to those sites yet still do.
Then they complain that the file won't print, won't load, has weird artifacts etc...

The HP Indigo in the lab will flag the file or it won't load in the RIP. There have been instances where "free" fonts will crash the RIP.
Takes a looooong time to reboot. On the order of 20 to 30 minutes.

Wide format is less of an issue but those "free" fonts have still caused rip and print issues.
Shouldn't have issues if your fonts are flattened, rasteised or created as outlines?

jochwat

Graphics Department
Shouldn't have issues if your fonts are flattened, rasteised or created as outlines?