• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Frusterating!

mudmedia

I have never used avery before, but it was a last minute decision and one I regret.

I bought the avery supercast wrap kit from fellers I cannot get this avery DOL laminate to not wrinkle in the laminator. Here is my process but maybe I am doing something wrong, I have never had this issue with 3M 8519 nor Oracal 290, heck with any laminate i've used, but this stuff SUCKS!

Can anyone tell me if there's a special formula for success using this stuff through a laminator?

I roll the laminate with backing down past the 2 rollers, then I pull the backing off the laminate and tape it in 3 places to my take up core. This is where I cannot get the avery to sit nice and flat over the two rollers before I push in with a piece of corrugated plastic.

I normally push in with the corrugated plastic to straight it out and use it as a feeder piece but the avery just never flattens back out.

Its frustrating when you have prints that need to be laminated, any help would be much appreciated.

Cale Frederick

I can't picture what you're describing....but I loop it around (lam and backer), tape to take up core, then only once there's even tension left to right I take a sharp blade and slit JUST the laminate, then flop that down over the top roller.

Then I poke and pull at it until the tension is even....then shove a 4mm coroplast sled through it. Sometimes the tension is still off....so then you can either restart or use a sacrificial piece of paper or vinyl, which usually gets rid of it since it's the same thickness as what you'll actually be laminating.