• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Gradients

Stacey K

I like making signs
I have some experience with gradients but I would like to know the proper way to do this. I have artwork from a graphic designer (maybe this is my first problem) and it's worked well for the past uses in small capacities. I've also created a nice screen for screen printing which some of you helped me with - turned out really nice so thank you!

He ordered a larger print and when I increase the art to 4' x 4' the gradient is banding - it seems amplified on the print vs what I saw on my screen. What is the proper way to create a nice gradient so it doesn't band? I've read some people apply a blur to it.

I saved the artwork as a jpeg sized correctly at approx 4'x4' using LXI and uploaded to Signs365.

Attachments

• Sign.jpg
    Sign.jpg
    106 KB · Views: 287

Solventinkjet

DIY Printer Fixing Guide
Is the file in vector format originally or is it a bitmap? If it's vector, scaling before saving as JPG should work although I'd suggest saving as a TIFF instead. If it's bitmap to begin with and then you enlarge, it's going to look rough because no new data is being introduced. Ideally it would all be vector and you save it as a PDF or EPS and let the RIP do it's thing but I know Signs365 doesn't except those file types.

Notarealsignguy

Arial - it's almost helvetica
If it's vector, I think you can increase the number of steps in the gradient. They also seem to be smoother if you can go from end to end without anything in between. If that makes any sense? If you open it up, it will probably have a bunch of nodes (or whatever they're called) across the whole thing.

Adam Vreeke

Knows just enough to get in a lot of trouble..