• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

help with rosewood standard in three colors of vinyl

picks2592

Hi total newbie here to cutting vinyl although i have designed several boat names in photoshop for others to cut out.I now have purchased a graphtec ce 5000-60, and illustrator cc but cannot figure out how to cleanly seperate the three different cuts of vinyl i will need to make my new boat name.
The font I am using is Rosewood Standard, I want the bottom layer to be the black (drop shadow) the middle layer( the actual letter shape) to be engine turn gold leaf, and the inlay portion of the letter to be a silver leaf. I cannot figure out how to get the three layers seperated or how to fill in the "empty" spaces left on the bottom two layers once seperated, Can do easily in photoshop but once imported to illustrator it becomes quite messed up, as I need to put my boat in Friday I am quickly running out of time to figure out how. Any help would be greatly appreciated even if just pointing me to the proper tutorial, I have not found one yet. Thanks so much!!!

CanuckSigns

the text has to be converted to outlines first, you should then be able to break apart the different elements.

I don't use illustrator, but in coreldraw it's:

convert text to curves
break curve apart

done

Attachments

• rosewood elements.JPG
    rosewood elements.JPG
    42.2 KB · Views: 112

picks2592

have three layers , Duplicate Index marks ?

have to find a tutorial on that as well Thanks for your help so far guys Half way there lol

Trip59