• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

House sign fabrication advice

bullet3

Hi!

I recently discovered this forum and have been learning a lot from here. I am totally new in sign making business, so there is a long way to go.
I am currently planning on making some house number signs for friends. If things work out, I would like to sell a couple of signs as well.
I currently have Silhouette Cameo and Oracal 751C laying around that I have used to make some decals. Now I would like to make house number signs by applying black vinyl on butlerfinished DIBOND.
I am mainly having concerns about the life expectancy of vinyl when sign is exposed to UV, temperature and rain that is common in Northen Europe. Oracal 751C should last a minimum of 8 years according to datasheet, but I think sign should look good for at least 15 years.
Which option would You recommend:

1)Use Oracal 751C ( What would be life expectancy in practice?),
2)Use some other vinyl (Which one would be the best for this application?)
3)Get letters UV printed and apply laminate
4)Use vinyl stencil and paint letters on aluminium composite (Which paint would have maximum life expectancy?).
5)CNC engrave through the top aluminium layer of DIBOND (How well does exposed black LDPE hold up outdoors?)
6)Any other technology that would ensure the best result? I think there has to be a way to make it last more than 8 years, since I have seen storefronts that have remained in place for 12 years at least. I am just not sure which technology was used.

I would be really thankful if If You have any tips!

Sander

Gino

Premium Subscriber