• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Illuminated Channel Letters Mounted to Glass Conference Room

ADuke

Hello everyone,

We have a challenge on our hands. A customer of ours likes Illuminated channel letters but wants them mounted to the Glass wall of one of their conference rooms. I have never done this before and am having a hard time figuring out how these would be mounted without having to ruin the glass (drill or something). I found a few images of some letters mounted to glass but I am not sure how they did it. They are built and made in the UK so I am not sure if the way these are done would work and be UL certified. Has anyone done this before and know how this is done or have a supplier for these?

Thank you!
attachment.php
attachment.php

Attachments

• Glass Mounted Channel Letters OPT2.jpg
    Glass Mounted Channel Letters OPT2.jpg
    47.7 KB · Views: 2,785
  • Glass Mounted Channel Letter inspiration.jpg
    Glass Mounted Channel Letter inspiration.jpg
    57.3 KB · Views: 1,573

ams

Hmm depending on the weight, it could be VHB tape for mounting. Some of those I can't see the wires, so thinking they may be internally lit by battery? The safest way is to drill a hole or create a raceway type thing. But VHB is what I recommend.

2B

without drilling the glass you are going to have to use an optically clear adhesive.

3M 4910 clear VHB is a good option.

2B

or lay vinyl down on the glass to 'mask' the adhesive used (good install pattern at the same time)

thought of that as we do the same method for glass, (interior mount is a mirror image of the exterior to hide the adhesive) but with the Jones example it looks its a one sided application

ADuke