• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

I've been Asked to be a Contractor

ikarasu

I'm going to set up in my formal living room. Nothing in there right now but some book shelves and one chair. I'm going to just be cutting vinyl in there and set up a small table for weeding and taping. At this point, I wouldn't need to consider a larger place.
I guess I'm going to need to figure out if I am a business owner. It's nothing I've ever tried besides doing freelance artwork for some people.
Slippery slope.. I started with a graphtec in my basemeent, now I have 2 wide format printer, laser cutter, and a graphtec... Once you see how much money you can make, its worth it!

I'd say go for it. Personally... I'd tell them if they let you have the plotter / everything else for XX dollars, you'll give them a discounted rate that they can put towards your payment to pay it off. So you may not make any money for a few weeks / months / whatever... but you're also not dropping a big chunk of change on a cutter after just getting laid off... especially when your only client is said client that laid you off - For all you know they could just be trying to offload their equipment, then they never send you an order.... or they know theyll only need 1 order a month now, so they dont want to keep the equipment around.

BUT the good thing about having it in your living room is you can have a normal job - Do their work after hours / on your own time, think of it like a side hustle until you decide you want to do it fulltime.

ikarasu

you will have to figure out your overhead (Insurance, tools, equipment, licenses) and then what you want to handle Simple to Complex
You also have to figure out how cutthroat you want to be