• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Lettering a trailer -- Need advice

DealerSupplySigns

Hey y'all hope all is well in the sign world today.

So, we have a trailer that I'm stuck lettering and I've never done it before. Just looking for any general tips or anything you can offer to make this process less painful. The current 8x16 trailer we're doing has no rivets.
Our next job has rivets. It's got one large, contiguous design to go over it.
Still a rookie in the field if that matters at all.

Stacey K

I like making signs
Trailer #1...not much info to go on so I'm assuming you are putting on a logo and some tag lines? I prefer the hinge method of installation. If you have a long tag line, tape it on and cut it every 4' so it's not so long to install and again, I use the hinge method. You can do that with any other graphics assuming it's cut vinyl, cut them apart so they are easier to handle but not until everything is taped up good! Go right over the panel edges and go back and cut them later with a knife. If there are screws then remove the screws where the graphics go, install vinyl and replace screws. You can paint the heads to match the vinyl or leave them.
Trailer #2...I would find a video on trailer wraps, there's a few good ones out there.

Jer Barlow

So, we have a trailer that I'm stuck lettering and I've never done it before. Just looking for any general tips or anything you can offer to make this process less painful. The current 8x16 trailer we're doing has no rivets.