• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Mimaki JV3 SP opinions

503WRAPS

I appreciate your reply and explanation. I am a newb to large format printing so your assumption is correct. What software are you using with your jv3 and how do you like it?

Letterbox Mike

i'd say a jv3sp bought used in decent condition is worth about $4000 (maybe $5k). they are at an extreme disadvantage to a jv33 because of support and the heads are too expensive. i'm sick to my stomach to think that a jv33 can get a new head (replacing all 8 channels for $800) for cheap while a jv3 sp would cost $2800 for four new heads to do the same and need a much more complicated alignment upon install. in a few years the jv3 will still be kicking and heads will probably be dirt cheap (i.e. the dx2 head price of late). but for now i can't imagine not attempting to pick up a 33 instead for about 10k. it will be crazy super sweet compared.

I agree with this. We juse sold a 2006 JV3-130SPII for $3500 with a 54" Royal sovereign laminator, and the printer was in perfect condition, so I think the price your seller is asking is high.

And I also agree with artbot, for a few thousand more, seek out a good JV33, it's a much better machine all around (not that the JV3 is bad, it's killer, but the JV33 is a significant leap forward).

503WRAPS

I agree with this. We juse sold a 2006 JV3-130SPII for $3500 with a 54" Royal sovereign laminator, and the printer was in perfect condition, so I think the price your seller is asking is high.

And I also agree with artbot, for a few thousand more, seek out a good JV33, it's a much better machine all around (not that the JV3 is bad, it's killer, but the JV33 is a significant leap forward).