• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

New Epson and rip setup, Onyx (gamaprint) 22 keeps crashing!

meltsner

Hi, we just purchased a new Epson S40, and Onyx Gamaprint 22 was bundled with it; I'm coming from a Mutoh/FlexiPro combo for about 13 years, so I feel like a total newbie again now, lol...
I followed installation instructions best I could (somewhat vague / didn't match up) and the printer IS connected to the computer, is being recognized and communicating in both Epson's Edge Dashboard, and in Onxy's printer setup; however when the RIP/Queue program opens, it is functional for about 15+/- seconds or so, up UNTIL the "configure printer" (see screenies) button comes alive, then the program locks up and/or crashes. In those seconds I can also try to open a file to print, but it doesn't add it to the queue or open it.
I realize I may have missed something important, or bad program....? I uninstalled/reinstalled, and explored everything I could see. Running Win10 Pro, 64bit so should be compatible.
It also pops up Windows UAC warning box on every open, which is odd.
I'll see if I can round up some tech support tomorrow but thought maybe someone else has had the same issue in the meantime.
I'd love to continue using all 10+ previous years of Flexi files for this printer but am not seeing it in SAI's list....which isn't huge and I don't mind learning a new program, but would be nice to stick with a familiar program for now (even though it still sucks as much as ever :D).

Attachments

• screenie2.png
    screenie2.png
    985.7 KB · Views: 492
  • Untitled.png
    Untitled.png
    76.9 KB · Views: 188

balstestrat

Problem Solver
Always hit "Yes" on the UAC warning and set it up to always "run as administrator".