• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Need Help Newbie - Cast Overlaminate loading

Goatshaver

Total newbie to everything cast. I wanted to laminate a sample print, but I cannot get the film loaded for the life of me. It's got a poly liner which and when I try to thread like I do with calendared material it just bunches up gets wrinkled and all jacked up.
There must be a trick that I don't know about.

Goatshaver

Got a picture of your threading setup?
If it's something like 3m 8518, I never had problems threading, but splitting the liner was the worst. I tried both a bodyguard knife and a topsheet knife with only half luck, and even then I'd accidentally slit some laminate and it stretches so much it would be a 50/50 shot whether or not the backing would roll up smooth. After throwing everything not nailed down at the wall in frustration, I put a piece of duct tape across the area to be split, made sure it was stuck well, then took a regular knife and slit the backing. It's a lot harder to go too deep in duct tape, and it holds the laminate together taught if you accidentally slit the laminate.

Yes it is 3M 8518. It's just a sample roll that came with the machine. The pic isn't that laminate, I took the 3M off cause I was getting heated. So it comes off the roll on the bottom, then under the idler bar from there I usually separate the liner from the laminate and tape the liner to the waste core. Use a piece of old backing paper and stick it to the laminate, load my feed board and have a rigid piece I push into the nip to get it started.

This stuff is so easy to wrinkle and bunch up, and it really sticks to the poly liner like heck!