• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Omega Newbie Is in Trouble

AZPAPACHUCK

I have been cutting vinyl since 1985 with a Gerber Signmaker IVB and about 5 months ago my Signmaker broke down and I purchased a brand new P2s Plotter with Omega 2.6.1 software. At the same time the new plotter arrived, I found the parts to fix the signmaker and had some other things come up to prevent me from even opening the cartons. Now, Gerber won't answer any questions unless I pay for the service. I'm learning the software and only wish to cut single color vinyl right now. The problem is importing images and files. How do I import a file that cuts smoothly without the ragged pixel cuts? I can't seem to find any information that tells me exactly how I am doing it wrong. Please help if you can... I'll even look for email help if possible... signsetc@qwestoffice.net or sbtrader@qwestoffice.net

Thanks.... AZPAPACHUCK ... I'm trying to NOT be too old to learn some new tricks....
<!-- / message -->

Fred Weiss

Merchant Member
Sounds like you're not importing vector files. If you're hoping to import bitmaps such as TIF or JPG files and have them magically convert to clean, vinyl-cut ready vectors, that rarely happens. If your import files are vector files then I would make an educated guess that they aren't clean cut-ready vectors either.

Here's a link to my sample download page. They are various files our digital art clients might use. Only the files in the right column are vinyl-cut ready files. Try them out and see how they work. Also reply back with some additional information as to what kid of files you've been trying to import.

Fred Weiss

Merchant Member