• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Oracal 751 removability on vehicle application

squaregoco

I’m new to the vehicle signage world. I have a client that wants his logo applied to his company van. He wants to trade the van in in about 18 months and wants to know if the vinyl will be removable without causing a lot of damage. I plan to use Oracal 751 in gloss white, black van in Texas. Looking for any experience you have had, should I use a different vinyl? Is black paint likely to fade in that timeframe (new van)?

Attachments

• AC9CB51C-08FC-44AC-AD79-368F69640765.jpeg
    AC9CB51C-08FC-44AC-AD79-368F69640765.jpeg
    332.6 KB · Views: 324

brdesign

A little bit heat and it should just peel off. It may leave behind some adhesive which will come off with some adhesive remover. I doubt that 18 months would be long enough to create a ghost image from the paint fading around the graphic, but a light ghost image could be buffed out by a detailer, or body shop.

bob

It's better to have two hands than one glove.
A little bit heat and it should just peel off. It may leave behind some adhesive which will come off with some adhesive remover. I doubt that 18 months would be long enough to create a ghost image from the paint fading around the graphic, but a light ghost image could be buffed out by a detailer, or body shop.
I disagree. 18 months is more than enough time to create a ghost image. Paint covered with vinyl weathers at a far different rate than the same paint open to the elements. You can see it on glass after just a few months and glass is a damn sight harder than paint.

Notarealsignguy

Arial - it's almost helvetica