• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Pricing for a large format printer

nssignguy

Just wondering how everybody does pricing on a machine like a large format printer. I am just getting into large format printing and trying to price out jobs. I currently calculate out my material and ink usage, add my markup, then approximate time for printing and general labour and use my labor rate for the total. Does that sound reasonable?

If the printer runs for two hours printing do you charge your full labor rate while that machine is running?

I hope this makes sense.

Thanks for the help.

johnnysigns

We run heavy minimum price charges for sampling/proofing, charge for every lot of artwork in a given order to cover prepress/rip time and we don't discount very much until we're over 4500-5000 square feet. We find the prepress, machine setup and testing time/proofing are the biggest leaches on making good strong margins

Texas_Signmaker

Very Active Signmaker
Just wondering how everybody does pricing on a machine like a large format printer. I am just getting into large format printing and trying to price out jobs. I currently calculate out my material and ink usage, add my markup, then approximate time for printing and general labour and use my labor rate for the total. Does that sound reasonable?

If the printer runs for two hours printing do you charge your full labor rate while that machine is running?

I hope this makes sense.

Thanks for the help.
Factor in depreciation and maintenance too. That's like charging for gas and your time driving a car without considering the miles you're adding and eventuall cost to replace it.

rjssigns

Vinyl or vinyl with laminate is per square foot which takes into account all other expenses.