• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Need Help Print Quality (Mimaki CJV30-130)

Coolshrimp

Hey guy so im just getting into printing I just got a Mimaki CJV30-130.

Iv just started using the machine and I notice the printing quality seems low quality.
Seems like there is white grainy spots.

I had the original SS21 Inks and iv just converted to some new ES3 ink.
Originally I didn't know you needed profiles setup and was using the default.
So on the machine in panel setting I have print quality set to fine, and draft also set to fine.

now I believe I got the profiles loaded for my new inks on raster link correctly.
Im set to the highest one (ES3 CMYK 1440 X 720).

I haven't seen any difference at all between prints after changing all those settings.

The image im pringing is not grainy at all on pc even when blown up 300%.
The images are under 12" x 12"

Are these white grainy spots normal? or is this a setting issue?
Thanks.

Here is examples:
http://i102.photobucket.com/albums/m102/coolshrimp/7754DE69-D2CA-4488-9801-6D625A7D11CC.jpg
http://i102.photobucket.com/albums/m102/coolshrimp/2717A420-F903-4358-848D-C7E252F085D3.jpg

smartgrafix

We have a Mimaki CJV150-130 with SS21 inks ... We get grainy / fuzzy prints like that when the heat is too high and / or when the encoder strip needs a good cleaning. Printing from a vector image will also result in better print quality than a JPEG every time, even if it's a great quality JPEG. Still, you should be able to get much smoother quality than this. I also usually set the number of passes in Rasterlink to one higher than recommended and the result is much more rich & vibrant prints.

Solventinkjet

DIY Printer Fixing Guide