• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Printing Issues

signmonkey

Hey folks:

I'm a newbie to the site, but it looks like a great resource.

We are having a strange issue with our Mimaki JV3 160SP. We are using Onyx software, and when we send a print out at the fast speed setting it halves the passes and only prints unidirectional. Up until this happened everything had been great with the printer for a few years.

Anybody ever see anything like this before?????:banghead:

GK

It really doesn't seem like its a problem. It seems like you are using a different profile. If you want to print fast, you have to sacrifice quality (in most cases depending on your printer) and if you want to print quality, you have to sacrifice speed.

signmonkey

I may have described the issue incorrectly in my first post.

When we set the printer to run at 4 pass bi directional, the output is actually running at 2 pass unidirectional. On other occasions it will start printing at the set passes and directions and then revert to a lower pass part way through the job.

I have contacted our tech support and they say it may be something that is causing the encoder to miss data.

Thanks for your replies and hello's

thewood

I would guess either a dirty encoder strip or communication issue between the RIP machine and printer. Are you running a firewire?

thewood

Yeah, we are running a fire wire cable.

How would one clean the encoder?? Just the ol' can of air??

Are you using the TI Firewire? I'm not a guru by any means, but the TI is pretty much the gold standard as I understand. I've heard of others having communication issues when using other chipsets.