• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

[Qns] What happen if you print white with CYMK only

chuanzuya

Hi all, I am new to printing decals.

Scenario: My illustrator graphic has white details, my roland bn-20 printer does not have white ink, only CYMK.
I am using a white base decal material. What will happen to the white color details of the graphic when it is printed out on the material? would it turn out to be a different color or would it not be printed at all?

I'm trying to use the white decal base as a "white ink" but my illustrator graphic shows solid white I'm worried that the white area may be printed out to become other color since i do not have white ink in the printer.

J Hill Designs

when no white ink is present, the RIP (should) read it as 'dont print here'

edit: I wouldn't use a 'white base' object while designing.

chuanzuya

when no white ink is present, the RIP (should) read it as 'dont print here'

edit: I wouldn't use a 'white base' object while designing.

Certain designs have solid white in it, i'm trying to use the decal white material to replace the use of white ink.. if the software (versawork) is able to read it and not print any color on the white area then it would be great :) thanks for ur input

J Hill Designs

yes thats what the software does

with white ink:

if (white spot color found) {
print white;
}

without white ink:

if (no color present) {
print nothing;
}

Solventinkjet

DIY Printer Fixing Guide