• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Question: Still new to vinyl cutting. Sawtooth or jagged edges on Vinyl Cuts?

gwizah

Greetings,

I am still fairly new to vinyl cutting, and everyday I learn something new. Im using a Mutoh Kona 1400 and Oramask 813 film to make stencils. I recently noticed I am getting more "sawtooth" edges on curves where I was previously printing smooth, clean curves. How should I handle this issue?

I have read that changing the pressure of the blade or even removing the tool holder and making sure there is lubrication can fix this. I was wondering if this is common after several cuts. This machine was a "hand-me-down" from a generous vinyl shop I've worked with so it had a good long run.

Should I be replacing the blade-? Is it something more serious? Any help is appreciated!

Ive uploaded an image comparing the two. The one on the left (partially obscured by transfer tape) is the clean one that I cut about a month ago. The one on the right is the new cut from today.

Attachments

• cuts_examples.jpg
    cuts_examples.jpg
    325.6 KB · Views: 524

Jburns

check your blade holder - looks like its really loose - also pinch rollers and make sure media is unrolled

letterman7

Yep, all of the above. I've even seen static do that on my own machine (buildup affecting the head - rare, but it happened). Could be the head is on it's way out as well.

signheremd

We had something similar happen on an old Graphtec - the rails needed to be cleaned as well as the wheels that ride in them (that allow the machine to move the blade left and right). Pull some covers off and look around for signs of dirt or graphite - unplug first... check the pinch rollers to be sure they are clean and their drivers are clean. May just need a good cleaning.