• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

RIP questions re: importing many files and print/cut workflow

Alamo

I am still a newbie trying to improve our workflow and trying to figure out how to make it happen. I think it's easiest to explain by an example. Monday morning I come in to say 50 online orders, say all with 50 different skus. Each sku matches a filename of the job including size, and finishing options our foam board print needs. I am trying to figure out how to:

1. Easily import my Excel list of 50 skus (again the skus have matching filenames already sized and ready to go) but to upload this list so that all the files will automatically upload, without having to manually add each one, with "smart" automatic nesting ( I say "smart" because Onyx is currently not smart for us, it wastes space on every board)

2. Print this data (sku) on the very outer say 3/16" edge of the print, that will later get covered up by finishing, so we don't have to hand write on each one after cutting what the sku data is.

3. Send board to cutter

We're currently using Onyx Thrive and I've reached out to their support but it seems like I'm making up what I'm trying to do but I know it's possible because I've seen it done, just not sure how. Not sure if it matters but it's a Vanguard Flatbed and Colex Cutter.

Thanks much in advance for any input!

balstestrat

Problem Solver
If we just stay in the Onyx RIP, you need a script or something else to drop all your needed images into the hotfolder with correctly set up quickset.
Then you can set the output to fill based or something. I think that's as automatic as Onyx (RIP) will get.