• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Roland PC-60/Flexi Spot color question (Noob)

arcman

I've created a two color logo (raster/bitmap) in Photoshop using black and a reasonable facsimile of gold. The Roland color choices aren't available in Photoshop's swatches. Should they be?

After importing into Flexi 8, how do I get it to substitute Photoshop's gold with the Gold Metallic cart in my Roland PC-60? I'm new to Flexi and managed to get to the point of printing, but from here it looks daunting. Lots of options. I haven't tried printing it yet, but I'm guessing it won't just pick the gold cart and run with it.

I did try color picking the gold (in Flexi) and filled it in with Roland's gold but it gets a bad case of the jaggies, looking awful compared to the original Photoshop file.

Any suggestions?

Also, when using Contour Cut, I have a space between two words and Flexi splits them. Is there a way to join the two to make one cut? Is there a way to draw the contour cut outline? I'd like to make it follow the letters but a much smoother overall cut, not bumping over every nook and cranny.

Thanks.

Steve Rife

arcman,
In order to get your PhotoShop's gold to map to Roland's gold ribbon you need to...
  • Open your job in Flexi 8.
  • Right-mouse click on the color bar and select "Open Table" from the context menu. In the Open dialog browse to the Swatch > Library > Roland folder.
  • Select PC-50.slb and open. A new color palette will open containing several spot colors
  • Change the gold color in your job to the one found on the new palette.
  • Enter the RIP and Print Dialog and select the 3rd tab or "Advanced Options".