• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Need Help Roland SP-300i cyan not printing

Jeremy W

Hello! I have many years of experience with printers/plotters and graphic designs, but I am relatively new to the large format printing of the Roland devices. At the shop I work at we are using a Roland SP-300i and today it started printing out the wrong colors for the first time - printing brown instead of bright green. After running the test print, I discovered the cyan is not printing; instead it is coming out almost black, like a dark grey instead. All three of the other colors are working fine. I took panels off the printer to check the ink lines and they all appear connected and not pinched or broken, however they do appear to be a very dark-blue-almost-black (the blue is faint but noticeable, unlike the print that shows absolutely no blue tint). I'm not sure if they should be filled with the bright blue from the cartridge or not as this is my first time tearing down a printer this size.

I've attached a picture taken of the test print page (it's on gloss adhesive vinyl).

Does anyone have any ideas on what can be done to fix this? I've run several cleaning passes, manually cleaned everything, and put in a brand new cyan cartridge. I'm pretty handy around electronics so I am comfortable opening panels and getting into the guts.

Attachments

• 20181018_122845.jpg
    20181018_122845.jpg
    3.2 MB · Views: 899

timkaz227