• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Sp300 and the stupid mistake i made!!

Turbophein

i bought a used printer that had heads not printing correctly yesterday.

black and cyan were hardly printing, the megenta and yellow do not print at all.

after setting up the printer and replacing the normal parts, like caps, wipers, dampers, along with a good cleaning, i had the black and blue printing mint! still nothing on the yel and magenta side.

took the manifold off the head, it was completely clogged, fixed that, flushed the head slightly, most nozzles were working when flushing. reinstalled the head and still nothing, i can't even suck ink through the caps. i started thinking it was electrical so this is my dumb moment, being a mechanic i decided to rule some parts out, so i swapped over the cable from the heads, megenta/yel cables on the Black and blue head and vice versa. i was hoping it would fire off the black and blue head but it didn't.

i reinstalled the cables the correct way and now the printer won't print anything. i fear i ruined the head electrically, just not sure.

any advice?

FrankW

I don't think the heads are ruined electrically, but changing head cables when the machine is powered on or just simply still connected to the power source will kill the head fuses which are soldered on the mainboard.

The fuses are looking like the marked ones on the enclosed pictures (but thats a board of the SP540). Find them, check them with a voltmeter and if they are damaged, replace them with using a soldering iron.

Attachments

• SP540Board.jpg
    SP540Board.jpg
    51.4 KB · Views: 340

Turbophein

after doing some research...