• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

State of large format printing businesses

naqviak

Hi
i am currently looking into acquiring an existing independent large format printing business in Houston TX. I have no prior experience and shop has declining revenue. The business has high end equipment including flat bed printer.

another thing I noticed is that there are many such businesses for sale and most of them have declining revenues

the he owner does most of networking and marketing and sales. It I want to bring sales person to handle that part.

I am seeking a general advice from forum members On general trend in this business. Things to consider, thing to watch out for etc
any insight will be really appreciated

player

I am not trying to be rude, but what do you bring to a highly skilled, insanely competitive industry that you have no experience in? Could be a tough go. The current owner has experience and all the contacts and business is down. He leaves, so do many of his clients, now what do you do? Hiring 1 marketing guy will mean your whole investment rides with him.

rossmosh

1. Right now the owner gets paid a salary and hopefully has some profit left over at the end of the year. If you can't take over his role and have no work experience, you're basically going to have to take a big chunk of that salary and use it to pay someone else. Can you live on that on top of your monthly note payment?